College Cyclists Off to Flying Start

June 25, 2013 at 2:26 PM

Both the Senior Boys and Senior Girls A team from the College remain undefeated as they lead their respective divisions after three races of the Mangere Team Time Trial series, formerly held on Tamaki Drive.

The boys team of Rogie Tomlinson-Gillies (Captain), Sam Dakin, Liam Ward, Liam Foster and Fraser Macdonald  are clear series leaders, with Westlake Boys, Takapuna Grammar and Massey High School all in close contention for second place points for the series. Auckland Grammar School’s A team required two ambulances in attendance after they were involved in a crash.

The 2012 National Champions, Saint Kentigern College Senior Girls A, have a formidable line up having lost only one rider from last year. The team of Cass Harvey (Captain), Mikayla Harvey, Josie Clow, Maddie Evans and Chloe Simpson have recorded the fastest time for the season of  25 minutes and 43.73 seconds, which was 55 seconds ahead of Takapuna Grammar.

Saint Kentigern’s Junior Boys team has two wins from three starts with a second place after crashing early in race two and finishing with three riders. Baradene College remain undefeated to lead the Junior Girls category with Saint Kentigern Junior Girls in second place.

There are seven races in the series with the last race held in mid-September, which also counts as the Auckland Schools Championship. The next race, Race 4 will be held on July 7th

Back to News List