College Squad Wins Tear Fund Time Categories

September 01, 2014 at 2:57 PM

On Saturday 30 September, two teams representing the blue and white of Saint Kentigern participated in the annual Tear Fund Poverty Cycle race, held on the roads around Clevedon.

Our Senior A Boys team, entering for the first time this year, showed their youth and dominance as the current Auckland Secondary School Team Trial champions, winning both the Schools and Overall fastest time categories, covering the six lap course of 120km in 3 hours and 26 minutes. This is an average bike speed of nearly 35kmh and their time was nearly 13 minutes faster than the best adult corporate team! The staff team also put in a great effort to be placed 12th out of 24 teams participating.

In addition, a group of six of our Middle School students led by Mrs Shelley Jamieson, were also on site to support our teams and assist the organisers with face painting and other children’s activities.

It was a fantastic result and together our teams raised over $3,500 for Tear Fund to help address the issues of child slavery and the sex trade in South East Asia. 

Student Senior Boys A Squad

Sam Dakin
Liam Foster
Matt McCullough
Fraser MacDonald
James Fouche

Staff Team Squad

Mr Duncan McQueen
Mr Kelvin Goodall
Mr Rick Faulding
Mrs Demelza Cusens
Mr Jarrod Cusens
Mr Bernard Potter

Back to News List