Middle College Solo Music Competition

November 19, 2018 at 12:24 PM

WOW! Were they really only Middle College students? 

The future of music at the College is clearly in good hands, judging by the amazing performances from the fourteen finalists in this year’s Middle College Solo Music Competition! 

Visiting adjudicator, Mr Mike Young, former Head of Music at Pakuranga College and current Education Manager for the New Zealand Music Commission, had the unenviable task of picking a winner in each of four instrumental sections, with one selected as the overall winner. 

How can you judge a piano recital against a violin, cello, flute, French horn, saxophone, bagpipes or vocal performance? Not easily! What does a judge look for when he hears 14 beautifully performed pieces, one after the other, and has to select an overall winner? Over the years, our invited judges have shared their view of a winning performance. During his career, Mr Young has judged over 1500 solo performances. In summing up, he said the performances that stood apart showed ‘a high level of technical security, allowing for a musically engaging performance, true to the composer’s intention.’ 

This year, Esther Oh won the String Section and was named Overall Winner for her passionate performance of ‘Praeludium and Allegro’ by Fritz Kreiseler. Not only was her technical performance flawless, but her ability to connect with her audience stood her apart for a well -deserved win. 

Well done to all our finalists and, in particular, to our four young winners for their fine musicianship. Were they really only Middle College students? Yes! And we’re really pleased that they will still be sharing their music for a few more years as they enter the Senior College! 

Esther Oh - Violin 

String Section
WINNER: Esther Oh - Violin
Masha Pavlenko - Cello
Ian Chiao – Violin 

Wind Section
WINNER: Evan Metcalfe - French Horn
Jude Beullens - Tenor Saxophone
Cameron Dean - Bagpipes
Winnie Liang - Flute 

Voice Section
WINNER: Chloe Haerewa
Addison Peebles
Olivia Costello 

Piano Section
WINNER: Ethan Huang
Emma Ying
Daniel Huang
Eric Lee


Back to News List